A Baby on the Doorstep - Rachel Wesson

A Baby on the Doorstep

By Rachel Wesson

  • Release Date: 2021-01-22
  • Genre: Fiction & Literature
Score: 4.5
4.5
From 27 Ratings

Description

Virginia, 1934: In the middle of the night, he crept through the bushes, thankful for the darkness, for the clouds covering the stars. Tenderly, he opened his bag, lifting the small bundle out. With tears in his eyes, he held her tight, not wanting to let her go. But he had no choice––it was the only way. “This is your new home, little one. You’ll be safe here.” 

Distant rumblings of conflict in Europe have reached even the secluded, snow-dusted mountains of Virginia, where Lauren Greenwood faces a battle of her own. The Great Depression is crippling America, leaving millions of its victims without shoes on their feet and clothes on their backs. Hope House––the orphanage Lauren runs––is suffering more than ever. 

The one thing Lauren is not short of is love. But with just a handful of dollars to her name, every day is a struggle to feed the orphans and keep a roof over their heads. 

Yet she refuses to give up. When a baby is left on the porch, Lauren welcomes her with open arms. The abandoned new-born, Maisie, is left with a crumpled letter––her parents begging Lauren to look after the girl and promising to return for her one day. Lauren refuses to allow another child to fall prey to the Depression, and vows to provide little Maisie with the love and protection of a mother.

But when the debt collectors come calling, threatening to shut down the orphanage, Lauren runs out of hope. Any day now the children could be thrown onto the frozen streets, where survival is impossible. With tragedy just around the corner, how can she ever reunite Maisie with her parents? And if she doesn’t manage to save the orphans, how will she live with herself?

A totally heartbreaking tale with a beautiful and hopeful message––when all else fails, love can save the day. Fans of Before We Were Yours, The Orphan Train and Diney Costeloe will be swept away by this emotional and totally gripping historical page-turner. 

Readers totally love Rachel Wesson’s Hope House series: 

Love love love this book!!! I laughed, I cried and it really touched me.” NetGalley Reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

Tissues! I cried… A masterpiece of truth! Eye-opening! I would give this book more stars if I could! I’d definitely recommend this book to everyone!” Goodreads Reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

I loved each and every minute Heartwrenching… Reminiscent of Of Mice and Men as well as The Colour Purple, JoJo Moyes’ The Giver of Stars with a dash of Kathryn Stockett’s The Help Like a warm hug on a winter’s day… An emotional rollercoaster.” Rachel M Writes, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

“A tearjerker. I sobbed… I KNEW it would be heartbreaking just from the title… But it was worth all the sobbing. I need the second book in the series pronto.” Privat, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

I’m speechless, how do I even do this book justice? You need to read this... I laughed and smiled and sobbed… This is a must-read.” Goodreads Reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

“I loved this… One of the most heartwarming books I’ve read all year. It is a heartbreaker.” Goodreads Reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

Pulls on your heartstrings… It will bring you to tears and but also make you smile.” NetGalley Reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

“Felt like I was watching a movie… Will keep you up late reading and page turning, and then it will linger with you! You don't want to miss this one!Musing by Maureen, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

Inspirational, heartbreaking and also upliftingFlawless… A true artist in storytelling.” Goodreads Reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

Oh my!… An extremely emotional book!” NetGalley Reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

You will need a Kleenex!” Goodreads Reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

Reviews

  • By
  • By
  • By
  • By
  • By
  • By
  • By
  • By
  • By